Data Protection is part of society
As strong companions, our Data Protection Officers assist your management on different stages, starting from the audit through data erasure to the preparation of necessary expert opinions.
Sample DocumentationYour companion

External Data Protection Officer

The German Association for Data Protection has set itself the task of advising companies in all aspects of data protection and providing external data protection officers. We develop concepts to implement the data security and protection of personal data in medium-sized companies and corporations.

The consulting Services of the German Association for Data Protection are rounded off by the possibility of the secure Data Erasure of Data Carriers and the physical Data Medium Destruction.
Externer Datenschutzbeauftragter - Deutsche Gesellschaft für Datenschutz

Our Services

External Data Protection Officer

Our data protection officers have expertise in IT and law and keep themselves updated on the latest standards in the field.

Continue

Revision-Proof Data Erasure

We erase your data carriers in a revision-proof manner and use recognized erasure standards.

Continue

Data Protection Audits

In order for our clients to be in conformity with legal requirements, we are screening the data processing procedures.

Continue

IT Expert Opinions

An expert takes over the objective determination of facts for courts or in the private sector.

Continue

IT Forensics Expert Opinions

We try to restore erased data and contribute to the investigation of criminal offenses by means of forensic analysis.

Continue

License Audit and Software License Reports

We evaluate over- and underlicensing and accompany manufacturer’s audits.

Continue

WITH EXPERTISE

Our expertise in the fields of the German and European data protection law allows us to support companies from different industries as external data protection officers. Our employees help you to implement the requirements of the data protection regulations and the Charta of Fundamental Rights.

IN CONFIRMITY

We help our clients to ensure compliance with data protection regulations and the supranational requirements of the European Union. We believe that data protection is to be considered a specific part of the quality management.

Compliance with data protection requirements creates trust. Data security is observed, in particular, by one’s own employees. Companies may clearly distinguish themselves from competitors by actively adhering to data protection.

Find out more

Data Protection Cloud Solutions

The German Association for Data Protection has developed several cloud solutions for an economic and efficient implementation of the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR). User friendly, legally compliant and efficient.

Our DGD Material

Here you can find our informative flyers, illustrating our work as external data protection officers as well as data protection auditors and our data protection cloud solutions.

Download Section

External Data Protection Officer - German Association for Data Protection
External Data Protection Officer - German Association for Data Protection

The Data Protection Manual

For our clients we elaborate an individual data protection documentation. This data protection manual covers various legal requirements and concepts, which we adjust to your organization. Our individual consultation and a just-in-time realization and implementation of the GDPR represent a well aligned process.

Documentation is everything!

Here you can find and look into the first page of each chapter in our bilingual data protection manual.

To the insight

External Data Protection Officer

According to Art. 37 GDPR, both controller and processor may be required by law to designate a data protection officer. Under Art. 37 (1) lit. a-c GDPR, the appointment obligation exists in any case where a public body is involved in the processing (except for courts acting within the limits of their judicial capacity) or the focus of the operation of the controller or the processor lies on activities that involve extensive regular and systematic monitoring of data subjects, taking into account nature, extent and/or purpose of the processing. Furthermore, the obligation exists, if large scales of special categories of data within the meaning of Art. 9 GDPR or data relating to criminal convictions and offences (Art. 10 GDPR) are processed.

The new German regulation on the DPO goes beyond the above, whereby the particularly high level of data protection in Germany is to be maintained: in the case of automated data processing in accordance with § 38 (1) sentence 1 FDPR-NV, the obligation to appoint the DPO arises already, if at least ten people are regularly occupied with the processing of personal data. In practice this limit is quickly exceeded, which is why it is advisable to make early considerations about finding a suitable person.

Irrespective of the number of employees, the controller is subject to designation, as far as automated processing is concerned, which is subject to a data protection impact assessment, or personal data processed commercially for the purpose of transmission, anonymized transmission or for the purpose of market or opinion research (§ 38 (1) sentence 2 FDPA-NV). However, even without appointing a DPO it must be insured that all data protection regulations are adhered to.

Art. 37 (6) GDPR stipulates that instead of an internal employee of the company an external data protection officer may be appointed. In any case, a DPO shall be designated in accordance with Art. 37 (5) GDPR on the basis of his professional qualities, his data protection expertise and his personal experience in data protection practice. Furthermore, he must be able to fulfill the obligations set out in Art. 39 GDPR. These prerequisites may basically be fulfilled by both a well-trained internal employee and an external person. However, there are differences between the two groups:  while an internal DPO usually already has a good understanding of operational processes, which may be useful for the cooperation with the employees and possibly a works council, the external data protection officer often specializes in data protection law, keeps himself up-to-date about the latest developments and distances himself from the company to the certain extent, which is why he can perform his duties objectively.

If the data protection officer is not appointed contrary to the existing legal obligation, it may, according to Art. 83 (4) lit. a GDPR, result in a fine of up to € 10,000,000 or 2% of the worldwide annual turnover, whereby the choice of the alternative depends on whichever amount is higher.

There are numerous Reasons to entrust us with your Data Protection.

Externe Datenschutzbeauftragte

Unsere Datenschutzbeauftragten verfügen über Sachverstand in IT und Recht und halten sich auf einem aktuellen Stand.

Weiter

Revisionssichere Datenlöschung

Wir löschen Ihre Datenträger revisionssicher und nutzen anerkannte Löschstandards.

Weiter

Datenschutz-Audit

Damit sich unsere Mandanten auf dem rechtskonformen Pfad befinden durchleuchten wir die Datenverarbeitungsprozesse.

Weiter

EDV-Sachverständigen Gutachten

Ein Sachverständiger übernimmt die objektive Feststellung von Tatsachen.

Weiter

IT-Forensik Gutachten

Wir versuchen gelöschte Daten wiederherzustellen und tragen mit forensischen Analysen zur Aufklärung von Straftaten bei.

Weiter

Lizenzaudit & Softwarelizenz Gutachten

Wir ermitteln Über- oder Unterlizenzierung und begleiten Herstelleraudits.

Weiter

Gemeinsam für Ihren Datenschutz

Die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Datenschutz hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, Unternehmen in allen Aspekten des Datenschutzes zu beraten und externe Datenschutzbeauftragte zu stellen. Wir entwickeln Konzepte um die Datensicherheit und den Schutz personenbezogener Daten in mittelständischen Unternehmen und Konzernen umzusetzen.

Die Beratungsdienstleistungen der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Datenschutz werden durch die Möglichkeit der sicheren Datenlöschung von Datenträgern und der physikalischen Datenträgervernichtung abgerundet.

MIT FACHKUNDE

Unsere Fachkunde des deutschen und europäischen Datenschutzrechts eröffnet uns die Möglichkeit, Unternehmen unterschiedlichster Branchen als externe Datenschutzbeauftragte zu betreuen. Unsere Mitarbeiter helfen Ihnen, die Anforderungen der Datenschutzvorschriften und der Grundrechtecharta umzusetzen.

RECHTSKONFORM

Wir unterstützen unsere Mandanten bei der Einhaltung der Datenschutzvorschriften und der supranationalen Vorgaben der Europäischen Union. Nach unserer Auffassung sollte Datenschutz als ein spezifischer Teil des Qualitätsmanagements betrachtet werden.

Die Einhaltung datenschutzrechtlicher Vorgaben schafft Vertrauen. Datensicherheit wird insbesondere durch die eigenen Mitarbeiter wahrgenommen. Unternehmen können sich durch aktiv gelebten Datenschutz klar von Mitbewerbern abgrenzen.

Wissenswertes

Ein externer Datenschutzbeauftragter

Gemäß Art. 37 DS-GVO können sowohl Verantwortlicher als auch Auftragsverarbeiter gesetzlich verpflichtet sein, einen Beauftragten für den Datenschutz zu benennen. Die Benennungspflicht besteht nach Art. 37 Abs. 1 lit. a-c DS-GVO in jedem Fall, sobald eine öffentliche Stelle in die Verarbeitung involviert ist (ausgenommen davon sind Gerichte, wenn sie innerhalb der Grenzen ihrer justiziellen Tätigkeit handeln) oder der Schwerpunkt der Arbeit des Verantwortlichen oder Auftragsverarbeiters auf Tätigkeiten beruht, die eine umfangreiche, regelmäßige und systematische Überwachung von Betroffenen erforderlich machen, wobei auf Art, Umfang und/oder Zwecke der Verarbeitung abzustellen ist. Ferner besteht die Pflicht, wenn es zu einer umfangreichen Verarbeitung besonderer Datenkategorien im Sinne von Art. 9 DS-GVO kommt oder Daten über Straftaten und strafrechtliche Verurteilungen (Art. 10 DS-GVO) verarbeitet werden.

Die neue deutsche Regelung zum DSB geht über das vorstehende noch hinaus, womit das besonders hohe Datenschutzniveau in Deutschland gewahrt werden soll: Im Falle einer automatisierten Datenverarbeitung greift die Pflicht zur Benennung des DSB gem. §38 Abs. 1 Satz 1 BDSG n.F. bereits dann, wenn regelmäßig mindestens zehn Personen mit der Verarbeitung von personenbezogenen Daten beschäftigt sind. Diese Grenze wird in der Praxis schnell überschritten weshalb es sich empfiehlt, bereits frühzeitig Überlegungen zur Identifizierung einer geeigneten Person anzustellen.

Unabhängig von der Zahl der Beschäftigten trifft den Verantwortlichen die Benennungspflicht, soweit automatisierte Verarbeitungen vorgenommen werden, die einer Datenschutz-Folgenabschätzung unterliegen, oder personenbezogene Daten geschäftsmäßig zum Zweck der Übermittlung, der anonymisierten Übermittlung oder für Zwecke der Markt- oder Meinungsforschung automatisiert verarbeitet werden (§38 Abs. 1 Satz 2 BDSG n.F.). Jedoch muss auch ohne Benennung eines DSB dafür Sorge getragen sein, dass alle datenschutzrechtlichen Vorschriften eingehalten werden.

Art. 37 Abs. 6 DS-GVO sieht vor, dass anstatt einem internen Beschäftigten des Unternehmens auch ein externer Datenschutzbeauftragter benannt werden kann. In jedem Fall muss ein DSB nach Art. 37 Abs. 5 DS-GVO basierend auf seiner beruflichen Qualifikation, seines Fachwissens im Datenschutzrecht und seiner persönlichen Erfahrung in der Datenschutzpraxis benannt werden. Ferner muss er in der Lage sein, die ihm aus Art. 39 DS-GVO erwachsenden Pflichten zu erfüllen. Diese Voraussetzungen sind grundsätzlich sowohl für einen gut geschulten internen Mitarbeiter als auch für eine externe Person erfüllbar. Unterschiede zwischen beiden Personengruppen gibt es trotz allem: Während sich ein interner DSB in der Regel bereits gut mit betrieblichen Prozessen auskennt, was der Zusammenarbeit mit den Mitarbeitern und ggf. einem Betriebsrat dienlich sein kann, ist der externe Datenschutzbeauftragte oftmals auf das Datenschutzrecht spezialisiert, auf dem neusten Stand, und besitzt eine gewisse Distanz, weshalb er seine Aufgaben objektiv erfüllen kann.

Wird der Datenschutzbeauftragte entgegen der bestehenden gesetzlichen Verpflichtung nicht benannt, kann dies nach Art. 83 Abs. 4 lit. a DS-GVO zu einer Geldbuße von bis zu 10.000.000.- € bzw. 2% des weltweiten Jahresumsatzes führen, wobei die Zuweisung der Alternative davon abhängig ist, welcher Betrag höher ausfällt.

Es gibt zahlreiche Gründe, den Datenschutz Ihres Unternehmens in unsere Hände zu legen. Sprechen Sie mit uns.